PODs by Michelle Pickett – Blog Tour & Giveaway

PODs_cover7HighRES (1)

Title:   PODs

Author:   Michelle K. Pickett

Genre:   Science Fiction>Dystopia, Young Adult, Zombies, Romance

Published:   June 4th 2013 by Spencer Hill Press

Page Count:   312 pgs

~ * ~ * ~ * ~

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Eva is a chosen one. Chosen to live, while others meet a swift and painful death from an incurable virus so lethal, a person is dead within days of symptoms emerging. In the POD system, a series of underground habitats built by the government, she waits with the other chosen for the deadly virus to claim those above. Separated from family and friends, it’s in the PODs she meets David. And while true love might not conquer all, it’s a balm for the broken soul.

After a year, scientists believe the population has died, and without living hosts, so has the virus. That’s the theory, anyway. But when the PODs are opened, survivors find the surface holds a vicious secret. The virus mutated, infecting those left top-side and creating… monsters.

Eva and David hide from the infected in the abandoned PODs. Together they try to build a life–a new beginning. But the infected follow and are relentless in their attacks. Leaving Eva and David to fight for survival, and pray for a cure.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~

Review:

I have never read a book containing zombies, or any variation thereof, until now. And really, this is a tough review to write. PODs was not a terrible book – not by any means. But it also didn’t leave me breathless. PODs was a quick, straight-forward read. There aren’t very many, if any, moments of surprise and there wasn’t too much suspense. Like I said, it was simply to-the-point. And since I’ve watched a lot of The Walking Dead and seen World War Z, the zombies in PODs didn’t jump off the page for me.

Pickett does a decent job in painting a picture of Eva’s life. The relationship between Eva and David consumes a majority of the plot – which if you read the synopsis, should be evident. I was a little aggravated that Eva and David kept getting interrupted anytime they were about to “take it to the next level”. But maybe this will be revealed to readers in the sequel (yep, there’s gonna be a sequel).

The problems and obstacles that Pickett created for her characters to overcome weren’t earth shattering, but they seemed like a realistic possibility if the world was in danger of being wiped out from a virus (which, let’s face it, is totally probable). The steps the characters had to go through – containment & isolation, then being thrown into an encapsulated apartment with complete strangers and no way out, then after developing a cohesive group being split apart and taken to a fenced-in compound with their lives completely mapped out, and then fighting to stay alive from the “infected” – the challenges, and changes in scenery definitely kept the book moving along.

Overall, while this isn’t my typical kind of read, it kept my attention but just didn’t blow me away. However, I think that’s because I love books containing magic and dragons and curses – basically all things fantasy. Dystopian/zombie lovers should definitely check it out though – it’s probably your cup ‘o tea!

Overall rating – 3 out of 5 stars

~ * ~ * ~ * ~

About the Author:

Snapshot_20130721_16
I’m a wife, mother, reader and writer, although not always in that order. Between helping my twin eight year-old daughters with their second grade homework and my twelve year-old son with his sixth grade homework (which I’ve recently learned I am NOT smarter than a fifth (or sixth) grader, thank you very much Jeff Foxworthy), and being a football mom (GO BULLDOGS!) I write young adult urban fantasies, science/fiction and paranormal romances and have recently started dabbling in young adult and new adult contemporary romance.

Red Bull or Monster Khaos are my coffee of choice and my day doesn’t start until I’ve downed one. My son usually hands me a can as soon as I stumble into the kitchen in the morning. I’m addicted to Reese’s peanut butter cups and eat way too many while I write (I’m currently trying to kick this habit). I have an abnormal obsession with hoodies and can’t write without one and since I live in Texas it’s an odd habit to have. But I strive to be abnormal. Normal is boring. We all need a little quirkiness in our lives.

I hate to cook, but love to watch cooking shows on television. The closest I’ll ever get to cooking anything resembling gourmet food would be writing a character who is a chef.  I’m a hopeful romantic; I love a swoon-worthy ending that will give me butterflies for days. And books that keep me thinking of them long after I’ve finished the last page.

I was born and raised in Flint, Michigan. I’m now live in a sleepy suburb of Houston, Texas with my extremely supportive, not to mention gorgeous husband, three school-aged kids, a 125 pound labradoodle that thinks he’s a lap dog, and a very persnickety cat.

My work includes:

The Amazon Bestselling young adult novel PODs

Milayna, March 2014

Milayna’s Angel (Milayna #2), September 2014

The Infected, a PODs novel, November 2014

The Innocent (Milayna #3), April 2015.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~

Social Links:

Michelle always loves to hear from readers, bloggers and other authors!

Website  *  Blog  *  Facebook  *  Twitter  *  Goodreads  *  Amazon  *  Shelfari  *  Pinterest  *  Linkedin

~ * ~ * ~ * ~

Buy Links for PODs:

Amazon ׀ Barnes&Noble ׀ Books-A-Million  The Book Depository ׀

Buy Links for Milayna:

Amazon ׀ Barnes&Noble ׀ The Book Depository

~ * ~ * ~ * ~

And Now for the Giveaway!!!

Click here for your chance to win a signed copy of PODs and some Swag!

~*~*~*~

This Blog Tour is sponsored by The Goodreads Making Connections Team!

3 responses to “PODs by Michelle Pickett – Blog Tour & Giveaway

Shadow me with your thoughts!

