Off to Oz Giveaway Hop – Win a $20 Giftcard!!!

Welcome to the Off to Oz Giveaway Hop!!!
hosted by Angela’s Anxious Life and I am a Reader, Not a Writer!

This Hop is dedicated to classics, classic re-tellings, and time-travel stories. I racked my brain trying to decide which book to spotlight. My choices ranged from Splintered by A.G. Howard (a re-telling of Alice & Wonderland) to Sherlock Holmes to Oliver Twist to Romeo and Juliet, on and on they rolled through my head until I finally settled on this:

Cyrano De Bergerac by Edmond Rostand.

I first heard about Cyrano De Bergerac when one of my favorite authors wrote a review on Goodreads. Yes, I know – I must have been living under a rock to have never heard of it beforehand. Needless to say, I borrowed a copy from my local library and breezed through it – and not because it was a simple or easy read – no. For those of you who haven’t read Cyrano De Bergerac, please allow me to explain. This story/play has drama, action, romance, intrigue, war, battle, internal turmoil, self-deprecation, bravery, poetry, pining, unrequited love, hidden emotions, wit, swordplay, it has it all! Unlike Romeo and Juliet who shared in their love for each other, poor Cyrano expresses his love for the beautiful Roxane the only way he can – through the mouth and looks of Christian. Why? Well, Cyrano can’t seem to get past the size of his own nose. In fact, he believes himself to be hideously ugly and unworthy of Roxane’s affection. It’s a shame really, because behind his nose lies a witty and romantic mind! Case and point – at the very beginning of the tale, Cyrano composes a song while dueling an opponent! I’ve read other characters that were smooth, but Cyrano takes the cake!

I hope that someday, if you haven’t already, you take time out and read Cyrano de Bergerac! It is truly a beautiful classic!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.
AND NOW FOR THE PRIZE!!!

A $20 AMAZON GIFT CARD!!

Click Here to Enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.
Now go check out all the other AWESOME BLOGS for your chance to win more FABULOUS PRIZES!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.
A special thanks to Angela’s Anxious Life and I am a Reader, Not a Writer for hosting this fantabulous giveaway hop!

60 responses to “Off to Oz Giveaway Hop – Win a $20 Giftcard!!!

Shadow me with your thoughts!

