September is for Sequels Giveaway Hop – Win a copy of City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare! 9/2 – 9/9

September is for Sequels Giveaway Hop
Hosted by Lisa Loves Literature & I Am A Reader, Not A Writer!

This hop features books that are sequels.

So, I chose a book from a series that I LOVE!

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
City of Ashes Cassandra Clare

But before we get to the Giveaway, a little about City of Ashes

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Synopsis:

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go β€” especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil β€” and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings β€” and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City’s Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Review:

Once again, Clare’s writing style is quick to pull me into the story – seriously, like within the first freakin’ chapter I was hooked! Of course, following on the heels of City of Bones, it wasn’t difficult for me to immerse myself back into Clary’s world. The beginning definitely left me reeling when the inquisitor interrogates Jace…ultimate-swoon-worthy Jace. Yeah, I could never be an inquisitor if Jace was the suspect – I’d be way to biased πŸ™‚ . (wipes the drool from my chin)

Anyway, the action doesn’t stop in this story. We get to meet the fairie court and the snooty, vindictive little fairie queen. There’s more werewolves and vampires and other shadowlings!

If you enjoyed City of Bones (and I’m sure you did), then you’ll fall doubly hard for City of Ashes. The angst, the drama, the action, it’s oh so good!

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Appropriate for ages 14 & up.

Fans of Twilight will DEVOUR these books by Clare!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About the Author:

“Cassandra Clare was born overseas and spent her early years traveling around the world with her family and several trunks of fantasy books. Cassandra worked for several years as an entertainment journalist for the Hollywood Reporter before turning her attention to fiction. She is the author of City of Bones, the first book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy and a New York Times bestseller. Cassandra lives with her fiance and their two cats in Massachusetts.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Social Links:

Goodreads | Online | Blog | Facebook | Twitter

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Buy the Book:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.

AND NOW…THE GIVEAWAY!!!
Click below for a chance to win your very own Hard Cover Copy of City of Ashes! (US only)
City of Ashes Cassandra Clare

CLICK HERE TO ENTER A RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now…Go Check out all the other AWESOME BLOGS that are part of this Books to Movies Giveaway Hop for your chance to win many other FABULOUS PRIZES!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A special thanks to Lisa Loves Literature & I Am A Reader, Not A Writer for hosting this Spectacular Blog Hop!

36 responses to “September is for Sequels Giveaway Hop – Win a copy of City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare! 9/2 – 9/9

  1. I really can’t just pick one….I love the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews, the Chornocles of Elantra series by Michelle Sagara, The Others series by Anne Bishop, Downside Ghosts series by Stacia Kane, Black London by Caitlin Kittredge, the in Death series by J.D. Robb and the Alex Craft series by Kalayna Price.

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  2. I think one of the best series I have ever read is the Otherworld series by Yasmine Galenorn. One of the things I like so much about it is that it has a lot of books in the series and it doesn’t have an end that is near future as there is still much of the story to be told.

  3. The Best book I have ever read?! Probably The Vampire Chronicles series by Anne Rice! Oh baby can she write vamps! There are 12+ books in that series. >.<

  4. It’s hard to pinpoint one of my favorite book series.There are so many I call “my favorite” πŸ™‚ *Vampire Academy* has 6 books and the “sister series” from *Vampire Academy* *Bloodlines* I think there will be 6 books also. The *Thirst* series has 5 books and last but not least. The *Black Dagger Brotherhood* series. I think the last book *The King* will be out next year.(2014) That will be the 13th book. Including *The Insider Guide* πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for a chance to win this book. I haven’t read *The Mortal Instruments* series, but I’ve been wanting to. πŸ™‚ Good luck to all & Happy Reading! πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Happy September! | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express·

  6. Harry Dresden, so far at unlucky 13, but I think there’s supposed to be 24 at last count. Although there’s a bunch of other series I could list here….

  7. I suppose the very best series I’ve read as an adult would be Stephen King’s Gunslinger series. There were seven books in the series. I wasn’t too pleased with the ending, though. Prior to that, each year, twice per year, I read The Chronicles of Narnia (also 7 books). I just loved the thought of stepping through a portal into another world.. A theme I enjoyed in the Harry Potter novels, too (also 7 novels). Thanks so much for the opportunity to win. michelle_willms@yahoo.com

  8. I loved the Hunger Games series and there were 3 books. Thanks for this amazing giveaway – I would love to win this book!

  9. My favorite series is The Hunger Games, there’s three books, but the Delirium series by Lauren Oliver is a very close second. There’s three books in that one too. Thank you!

  10. I have only read one series of books when I got pregnant with my first child. I only got to book number 4. I went to dramatized CDs after that. It was the Left Behind series. I think there were 11 books or something like that.

  11. My favorite series is Sherrilyn Kenyon’s The League. There are currently 7 books. The next one comes out next year. I don’t know how many are planned.

  12. Def Harry Potter = 7 books, Inheritance= 4 books, Grisha series (Shadow & Bone, Siege & Storm) = 3 books planned and Artemus Fowl = 7 or 8 books (right now im on the 5th).

  13. My favorite is probably the Pendergast series by Preston/Child and there are 12 currently with a new one due out soon.

  14. There are so many series that are near and dear me that it is impossible to single out just one as my favorite. The Wheel of Time (14), The Black Company (10 +2 more), Midnight Breeds (12 so far), Immortals after Dark (13 so far), Sword of Truth (12), The Black Jewels (9), Riyria Revelations (6), Highland Pleasures (6 so far), Mistborn (4), Night Angel (3), ….my list just keeps going……. πŸ™‚

  15. I love the Dark Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon. I think there’s 20 or more books in the series and it’s still going strong.

  16. I think the best series I have ever read is from Kathy Reichs – her Temperance Brennan books. It is ongoing, and has more than 10 books already.

Shadow me with your thoughts!

