A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin

Wizard of Earthsesa Ursula Le Guin

Synopsis: (from Goodreads)

Ged, the greatest sorcerer in all Earthsea, was called Sparrowhawk in his reckless youth.

Hungry for power and knowledge, Sparrowhawk tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Review:

When I picked this book up from my library, my initial thought was that I’d breeze through this book in one sitting because it was a small, thin book of less than 200 pages (and I usually read books that make the yellow pages look small)! Boy was I wrong! It actually took me five sittings to finish A Wizard of Earthsea. This wasn’t because I didn’t like the story or because it moved slow or bored me to tears. Quite the contrary. I very much enjoyed this read. However, it’s unlike the newer age novels I read. Lately, I’ve been reading books that have been published in the last 5 to 10 years. The style of writing is distinctly DIFFERENT between today and 1968 (when A Wizard of Earthsea was originally published). It doesn’t reveal everything, but fuels the imagination and leaves you thinking! The story reads more like an oral story telling – every chapter (or two) could be told around a campfire, or better yet, as a bedtime story. And I LOVE that about this book!

Some of the morals appeared to be not letting pride overcome better judgment, trusting your true friends, facing fears instead of running from them, and accepting every part of oneself. Good morals if you ask me!

Other things I liked about this book were the relationships. The one between Ged and his master Ogion could be compared to Mr. Miagi and Daniel-son in the Karate Kid. Ogion is quiet, powerful, knowledgeable, and very astute. Ged is impetuous, obstinate, and feels he needs to prove himself worthy. The relationship between Ged and Jasper is volatile. Ged’s enmity towards Jasper is palpable (and I wouldn’t blame Ged if he deflates Jasper’s arrogance through some sort of humiliating display of power later on in the series – in fact I’m hoping that happens!) Finally, Ged’s friendship with Vetch is pure and significant.

I could go on and on about everything I liked about A Wizard of Earthsea but that would cut into my time reading the next book in the series!

You should definitely check this one out!

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars.
Appropriate for all ages.

For more information about Ursula K. Le Guin, check out her website.

Shadow me with your thoughts!

