Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Fifty Shades

Despite all the hype, I just couldn’t get into this book. The dialogue was SO cheesy, the characters were shallow. The erotic scenes seemed repetitive – at least the author used a lot of the same (or very similar) words to describe the recurrent sex scenes. The plot was flat. This book just didn’t do it for me. I honestly do not know why a movie is being made. Maybe the producer will add some depth and passion to this tale

If you’re looking for a really good S&M type book that has a better plot and an experienced, well-read author, check out A.N. Roquelaure’s (a.k.a. Anne Rice) Sleeping Beauty series (The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty, Beauty’s Punishment, and Beauty’s Release). Now there’s a series that will get your body pumping!

Overall rating: 1 out of 5 stars

2 responses to “Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

  1. Totally agree with you on the repetitiveness of the sex scenes, they got really boring in the end, especially in the other books too. I quite liked the first one for it’s pure unabashed trashy-ness but I still can’t believe how crazy the world went for it. It’s written pretty terribly. And I’d never heard of the Sleeping Beauty series…very intrigued. I used to LOVE Anne Rice!

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Day 18 | Me, Bookshelf and I·

Shadow me with your thoughts!

