Stonewiser: The Lament of the Stone by Dora Machado

Stonewiser - Lament

The tale begins when a horrible task is assigned to Kael – kill his mate, his love, Sariah using a blade only the dead can see. As Sariah and Kael flee from Aaron’s Shield and make their way through the Goodlands in search of their son, can Kael prevail over his struggle against the sage’s curse?

One of the best things about the Stonewiser series is that Machado keeps the tale fresh by introducing the reader to new characters, societies, and magic. In Lament, we get to travel to the Bottom Islands, a place carved out beneath the sea, and meet Treodes – someone individuals flock to with offerings hoping to gain Treodes’ blessing. During their journeys, Sariah rediscovers various old stonewiser tricks, including one allowing her to communicate with Malord and Mia, among other things.

The other great thing about Machado is her ability to continually surprise the reader – and that’s all I’m going to say about that.

Lament is an enjoyable read and conclusion to the Stonewiser series.

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

For more information about Dora Machado, check out her website!

One response to “Stonewiser: The Lament of the Stone by Dora Machado

  1. Pingback: Book Bomb! The Curse Giver by Dora Machado | These are but Shadows·

Shadow me with your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s